Nothern Italians mostly germanic?

Danny6777

Would most of the scientists artist and mathematicians that where born in northern Italy be of germanic or celtic stock? Like might Galileo be of germanic ethnicity? It is said that germanic people had invaded northern Italy in ancient times and that celtic people had been settled there for a period before rome came into existence.

Well, the Eutruscans were there first, then the Romans, who brought in slaves from all over the place, and then there were some invasions by various groups like the Carthiginians, Vandals, Goths, Huns, etc. So any attempt to sort anything like that out is essentially futile at this point.

Mokele

I've been a student of Roman history for many years, and continue to find their history fascinating. I'm not an expert, but if memory serves the Romans were overrun and Rome itself was sacked in 390 BC. Most of the records were destroyed and most of what we know about Rome before that time is based on documents that were written after that sacking.

After that time, gallic peoples settled all over northern Italy. Over time it completely rewrote the genetic makeup of all Italians. During the time of Caesar (two centuries later) people were still recognizably gallic or non-gallic. People who looked gallic were ostracized in various ways (to a degree of severity which it is difficult to fully determine).

Anyway, what I was getting to is that about THAT time, during the time of Gaius Marius, when Caesar was just a boy, there was a massive German migration that took place. At one point something like 100,000 Roman men were wiped out at the Battle of Arausio (modern Orange), when they were simply overrun by a reported two million migratory Germans.