Combustible gas with no oxygen?

Forensicmad

Hi,

This is my first time posting so... hi

Anyway, I have a question (which you may have guessed).

I am writing a book/story which is about life on another planet and i am trying to keep it as scientifically accurate as possible. One thing which i need to know is;

Is there any gas which is combustible in an atmosphere with no oxygen?

Or even any substance?

I'm pretty sure you will all say that all combustion is, is the rather hot, oxidising reaction which we see as a flame. My question is really asking however, if there was an atmosphere with no conventional earthly fire, could something at least resemble it or would i have to create something? I have to stay away from oxygen as much in its elemental form because it would conflict with far too much else in the story.

Thanks very much

Matt, 16 :)

Welcome to SFN!

Yes there are such chemicals when you consider combustion as oxidation.

Lets take an example, if we were to burn hydrogen in an oxygen atmosphere the 2 hydrogens each "donate" 1 electron to the oxygen atom - they have lost electrons and have therefor been oxidised. The reverse if true for oxygen which has been reduced.

So the answer is a simply yes - elements that are very electronegative will allow you to "burn" or oxidise things. Examples could be fluorine and chlorine for example :)

Good luck with your book!

Ryan Jones

Thank you very much for the quick reply. I finally have an answer i've looked so long for. Funny isn't it?

Hours of trawling the internet comes up with nothing and then just 10 minutes waiting for your reply gives me one. Sods law.

Thank you very much for the quick reply. I finally have an answer i've looked so long for. Funny isn't it?

Hours of trawling the internet comes up with nothing and then just 10 minutes waiting for your reply gives me one. Sods law.