Grad Student Issues

Jarwulf

Alright, there doesn't seem to be a better place to post this sort of question. If there are any other grad students I'd especially appreciate your feedback.

I am a grad student at a research university, I'm also the only student in my PI's research group currently. We mostly do theoretical/computer stuff, no wetlab. The problem is I've come in from a more wetlab background and am somewhat inexperienced in the heavier math orientation of this research. This would be all fine and dandy except that the PI is travelling often, and when he is around doesn't seem too interested in giving me one on one instruction or anything but the most general and vague directions about what he wants me to do. Because of this I'm not progressing as quickly as I would like or maybe he wants. It's difficult to figure out what he thinks of my performance since we aren't in contact as often as I would like. Even through email he doesn't respond as nearly as quickly as I wish he would. Even though he doesn't seem to be outright hostile or a bully I'm vaguely troubled by this disinterest. Normally I'd be able to rely on labmates but since I'm alone this is particularly difficult situation.

I think there is potential for me to be able to chart a path to a research project that would suit my tastes in this lab if I can get this resolved. I'm worried though that this is an ominous sign that things might get worse. Because of certain circumstances I might have to soon get financial support directly from him. (dum dun dun) The last thing I want is to get kicked out or dropped by the wayside or fail in some other way. Any advice to extricate myself out of this pickle or mitigate the problems is appreciated.