Hi! This "newbie" needs help with a PA system design

jack.allwardt

Hi there! I'm the local Lions Club projects director and have been tasked with replacing/updating/etc. the high school baseball stadium's PA system.

This system is 20 years old, and really stinks!

I'd like to chat with anyone that has experience or knowledge in this area. Most audio/amplifier/speaker forums don't wish to deal with this mundane subject.

Any takers?

Thnx!

I work in the entertainment industry as a musician and sound engineer, would be happy to help.

It all depend on how big the stadium is, (I assume it's an outdoor environment)

General rules are.

You'll need about 5 watts @8 ohms per person i.e a room which holds 100 people would require an amp of 50 watts RMS @ 8 ohms

better to have about 7-10 watts if budget will allow.

although this ratio deminishes with room size e.g massive stadium (80,000 seater) pa systems are about 20,000 watts

Your amps power output should match the speakers power handling

i.e 100w amp with 100w speakers. although there are two schools of though on this... either;

your speakers should be able to handle more power then your amp can generate, thus avoiding damaging your speakers

or

you amp should exceed you speakers power rating , thus avoiding overloading the amp.

the easiest way to over come this dilema is to buy powered speakers,

these have an amp build into the speaker cabinet which is perfectly matched to the speaker chasis and coil.

you will also need some kind of interface between the sound source and the sound produced - a mixing desk.

for your purposes an eight or even four channel desk should be fine.

e.g you can plug in a couple of microphones and a cd player etc.

because it's a stadium and the audience is situated 360 degrees around the source you would do best to have four speakers.