Cold Smoke Reaction

Stusi

Well i'm new to this board and have a few projects going. I will be honest and say i have very little chemistry knowledge but hope to fix that in the future. I am currently searching for some sort of reaction that will create smoke. I do not care what color but i do want it to apply to the following rules...

1. non toxic, people will be breathing this stuff!

2. cold burning reaction, it can not heat up enough to light a fire in dry grass (i'm not exactly sure what kinda temps that would be but i woudl say keep it below 200 F).

3. Volume of smoke, i am looking for as much smoke by volume as possible with this, the more the better.

4. Size, i am hoping to fit this all into a container no larger than 1 liter. A coke can size would be perfect.

I have searched the internet for such a reaction that i could create but have not found anything. Most of the "smoke" i hear about involves burning and i cant have that because this will be used in a game on dry grass as a concealing method for movement. I have used US coast guard smokes in the past and am pleased with their performance but they are sometimes hard to come by or pricey. Anyone got any ideas?

Thanks so much for the help, and if anyone has any info such as "not possible" just lemme know.

Subliming carbon dioxide would be like dry ice correct? That prodecues very little smoke and in general it hangs close to the ground. YT, how would i "activate" this magical smoke machine substance? I have only seen it in a powder and don't know how it workds.

ah, ok, if you want something better than dry ice...

potassium nitrate and sucrose makes a great cloud but burns at 1700 celcius and the gas would make you cough.