wow I'm hating school about now.

blike

Well, more specifically I hate waking up at 7am to go to my general microbiology lecture. I also hate doing work in my literature class (requirement). I just want my degree! Four years of college work that I'm never going to apply in my life is old and busted. I enjoyed all my sciences and maths for the most part, but I'll never use 98% of the things I learned. I suppose one could make the argument that they provide a good foundation, but PSHFTHAP!H! !! GIVE ME MY DEGREE.

I have about 2 years of college courses under my belt. I did very well when I attended, but I quit to go into the family machine shop business. I wasn't learning anything in school that was going to help me in a prototyping machine shop environment.

Over the years, I have taken a course here and a course there, and I have taught myself many things - CAD/CAM programming for example. I have been running the shop since 1981 - after my dad retired my husband and I shared responsibility.

Since my husband died, I have considered closing it and just going to work for someone else so I can have planned vacations and 40 hour work weeks. I have made some inquiries and my lack of a degree is a severe limitation when it comes to salary. I considered going back to school and getting the coveted piece of paper - but it wouldn't be cost effective.

Anyway - I have worked for over 30 years without a degree and never felt the lack of it until now. However, none of us can foresee the future, and having the degree is far better than not having it.

So --- every time you get totally frustrated and think you won't use what you are learning - you may not, but people still want to see the piece of paper that says you had enough perserverance to stick it out.

Hey blike, you want to trade for a while?

I've got

AP Physics

AP Litterature

AP Phsycology

AP Macroeconomics

AP Calculus